TEXAS COUNCIL OF FACULTY SENATES BUSINESS MEETING October 20, 2007

Minutes

David Weissenburger, President, called the meeting to order at 10:00 A.M. Present were the Executive Committee members and representatives from twenty-seven campuses. Sharon Grimm, Executive Secretary, also attended.

In a motion by Murray Leaf, seconded by Ferris Byxbe, the minutes of the February 17, 2007 Business Meeting were approved as read. A vote to accept passed unanimously.

Alba Ortiz, Treasurer, presented the Treasurer's Report and noted that the organization's finances are solvent. In a motion by Murray Leaf, University of Texas at Dallas, seconded by Thomas Cox, Sam Houston State University, the report was accepted. The budget for school year 2007-2008 was presented with reductions in several categories. A motion was made by Murray Leaf, seconded by Glenda Ballard, Texas A&M Texarkana, to accept the budget. The vote by members passed unanimously.

Sarah Moreman, Vice President West Region and Editor and Webmistress reported that her colleague, Wesley Wynne of Sul Ross State University, Rio Grande Campus, is working on a re-design of the website.

Joe Kotarba, Vice President East Region and in charge of Nominations/Fellows Program, announced that elections would be held at the spring meeting on February 15-16, 2008 for President-Elect, Vice President West Region and Vice President Northeast Region. He stated that nominations for these positions prior to the meeting could be mailed or emailed to him. He announced that the Fellows Program at the Coordinating Board is still inactive and that Catherine Parsoneault is attempting to rejuvenate the program. Applications to attend the next session of the program previously submitted will be sent to Catherine Parsoneault.

Peggy Landrum, Vice President Northeast Region and Program and Special Projects Director, asked that any ideas for topics and speakers be e-mailed to her. Murray Leaf suggested the topic of destructive and menacing students on campus. Murray Leaf also suggested a panel discussion with topic to be determined be held prior to the business meeting on Saturday morning. Volunteers who will serve on the panel are Murray Leaf, Joe Kotarba and James Eldridge, University of Texas Permian Basin.

President Weissenburger announced that the Executive Committee recommendations for the 2007-2008 school year are that the dues for Texas Council of Faculty Senates remain at \$300.00 per year and the registration fee for the meetings be increased to \$50.00 to help cover the costs at our new hotel.

President Weissenburger announced the meeting dates for the spring meeting are February 15-16, 2008.

Murray Leaf announced that he is creating a proposal for the UT system regarding faculty representation of Boards of Regents which he will present at the spring meeting.

Mavis Triebel, Lamar State University – Port Arthur, requested permission to use the main meeting room on Friday morning for a TSUS system meeting. The request was granted.

On a motion by David Sorrells, Lamar State University – Port Arthur, the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Sharon Grimm Executive Secretary