TEXAS COUNCIL OF FACULTY SENATES

BUSINESS MEETING

OCTOBER 27, 2012

MINUTES

President Sally Moreman called the meeting to order at 10:10 A.M. Present were faculty members from twenty-six campuses.

The minutes of the February 18, 2012 Business Meeting were presented to . members. Martha Hilley, University of Texas at Austin questioned as to whether the funds in the Vanguard account were moved to another fund to increase the profitability of the investment to which President Moreman explained that a committee has been formed to do the investigation of this possibility that requires some additional paperwork to be completed by TCFS. The minutes will be corrected to reflect that the spring meeting date has been changed to March 1-2, 2013. In a motion made by LaVelle Hendricks, President-Elect and seconded by Mavis Triebel, Lamar State University Port Arthur, the minutes were approved.

Treasurer Alba Ortiz and Vice President, South Central Region, presented the Treasurer's Report, copy of same given to all members, indicating the solvency of TCFS. She encouraged the payment of dues in order to meet the needs of the organization. In a motion made by Hillary Hart, University of Texas at Austin and second by Martha Hilley, the Treasurer's Report was accepted unanimously.

Treasurer Ortiz presented the Budget Report for the school year 2012-2013 explaining that the budget is now being calculated using the school year of September through August rather than a fiscal year of January through December inasmuch as the dues invoices are mailed in September. There being no questions, in a motion made by Murray Leaf, Vice President Northeast Region and University of Texas Dallas and seconded by LaVelle Hendricks, the budget report was accepted unanimously.

President-Elect LaVelle Hendricks was called upon for an update on the web site. He explained that it may be another 30 days before his assistant has the site updated. Linda Stark Bobo, Stephen F. Austin State University, asked if it would be possible to include a blog on the web site with a page for each campus. Murray Leaf responded that this has been considered and once the new web site is completed, it will be looked into.

President Moreman explained that Michelle Moosally, Vice President East Region, is attending a conference this weekend at the national AAUP Shared Governance Conference in Washington, D.C. and presenting a report about the shared governance survey generated by TCFS. Past President Anjoo Sikka is also participating in the presentation of the report.

In Vice President Moosally's absence, President Moreman explained that elections for vice presidents will take place at the spring meeting for the East Region (held by Michelle Moosally) and the South Central Region (held by Alba Ortiz). Nominations for these positions should be sent to Michelle Moosally (moosallym@uhd.edu). Nominations will be accepted at the meeting also.

President Moreman asked the group how they felt about moving the spring meeting to later in March or April. The responses were that March includes spring breaks and April begins preparation for finals. Vera Walker-Hawkins, Texas Southern University, expressed how much she enjoyed attending our meeting which was held at the same time as a quarterly meeting of The Coordinating Board and that she hoped we could continue to have our meetings at the same times quarterly. President Moreman explained that the next Coordinating Board meeting will be held in late April, but we will try to meet at the same time in the fall of 2013.

President Moreman recognized our recent Vice President Esther Rumsey of the West Region with a plaque thanking her to her colleague, Brad Butler, in her absence.

President Moreman again notes the dates of the 2013 meetings as March 1-2 for the spring meeting and October 25-26, 2013 for the fall meeting.

President Moreman called for topics of interest for the fall meeting. These may be emailed to her (smoreman@sulross.edu) or included on the Meeting Evaluation form.

There being no further business, a motion by O. Jayne Bowman, Texas Woman's University, and second by Hillary Hart, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted.

Sharon Grimm Executive Secretary