TEXAS COUNCIL OF FACULTY SENATES BUSINESS MEETING FEBRUARY 28, 2015 MINUTES

President LaVelle Hendricks called the meeting to order at 10:20 A.M. Present were faculty members from thirty campuses. Sharon Grimm, Executive Secretary, also attended.

President Hendricks opened the meeting with a report on travel issues inasmuch as Austin and surrounding areas were in the middle of an ice storm.

The minutes of the October 25, 2014 minutes were read. Walter Borges, University of North Texas asked that any resolutions written or referred to be attached to the minutes. There being no further issues, O. Jayne Bowman, Texas Woman's University, moved the minutes be approved and Jim Woosley, Texas A&M University, College Station seconded the motion.

Treasurer Alba Ortiz presented the Treasurer's Report reflecting \$12,075 in the checking account and \$25,955 in the Vanguard account. She noted it was time to pay an installment of the secretary's salary and the meeting expenses leaving a net of \$32,485.90. The report was approved unanimously. Treasurer Ortiz indicated we had entered into an agreement with Bluehost to build our website, but that the executive committee had decided to cancel it as President LaVelle asked to take over the development of it.

Treasurer Ortiz then presented the budget for the coming 2015-2016 year and advised she kept it at the same level. The budget was approved unanimously.

President Hendricks announced that this is his last meeting as President and now becomes Past President for a year. He said he had been affiliated with Texas Council of Faculty Senates since 2009 and was very thankful for his involvement with it.

President Hendricks announced that an Evaluation Form had been passed out and asked that members complete it giving us their opinions for making our meetings more meaningful.

President Hendricks introduced Dana Cooper, Stephen F. Austin State University, our new President Elect. Dr. Cooper announced that this is an election meeting for two Vice Presidents and that Jim Woosley had been nominated for the East Region and Mary Mayorga, the current Vice President for the South Central Region, who was unable to come to the meeting, expressed her willingness to run again. Dr. Cooper explained that two people from a campus are entitled to a vote. She asked for nominations from the floor and there were none. O. Jayne Bowman moved that Jim

Woosley be elected by acclamation and Joe Velasco seconded the motion. There being no nominations from the floor for the South Central Region, Ann Albrecht moved that Mary Mayorga be re-elected by acclamation which was seconded by Walter Borges.

Trevor Hale, University of Houston Downtown, presented a resolution written by a group of members in support of Governor Abbott's initiative on higher education. This resolution would be used to send to legislators, et al. The resolution was sent to committee for further refinement before releasing to TCFS members.

The issue of the campus carry law was introduced and there was much discussion. Chris Ward, University of Houston – Clear Lake expressed that for the sake of moving forward, he motioned a sub-committee be formed to amend the guns on campus resolution. The motion was seconded by Alba Ortiz. A vote in favor of the motion failed. The Handgun Resolution that TCFS approved in February, 2011 still stands.

Dr. Cooper presented some goals she has set for her tenure as president which will be sent in an email to the membership. The general approval of her goals by the membership was noted.

There being no further business, O. Jayne Bowman moved that the meeting be adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, Sharon Grimm, Executive Secretary